Go To Search
Click to Home

Multi-Jurisdictional Hazard Mitigation Plan
Las Virgenes-Malibu Council of Governments (LVMCOG)
The LVMCOG was established by its members under a Joint Powers Agreement to provide a vehicle for members to engage in regional and cooperative planning and coordination of government services and responsibilities. The LVMCOG also provides a regional organization for the review of federal, state and regional projects and studies which involve the use of federal state and regional funds.

The LVMCOG is comprised of five member cities: Agoura Hills, Calabasas, Hidden Hills, Malibu, and Westlake Village.

Multi-Jurisdiction Hazard Mitigation Plan
The cities within the LVMCOG experience similar hazards and have combined their efforts in order to produce a more thorough Hazard Mitigation Plan. Combining efforts, identifying common threats, and establishing regional mitigation strategies was a collaborative task that allowed mutual participation and more effective use of resources.

This Multi-Jurisdictional Hazard Mitigation Plan meets the requirements of the Disaster Mitigation Act of 2000. By preparing this plan, the LVMCOG is eligible for federal mitigation funding after disasters and to apply for mitigation grants before disasters strike.

The Plan was approved by the Malibu City Council on May 29, 2012 through the adoption of City Council Resolution No. 12-18.

Contact Us
Susan Dueñas
Public Safety Manager

310-456-2489 ext. 313
City of Malibu