Planning Commission

The Planning Commission consists of five members who are residents of the City of Malibu, each appointed by a City Councilmember to serve a four-year term. A new Chair and Vice Chair are elected by the Commission each year.


The Planning Commission makes decisions and recommendations on planning and land use matters for the City. Responsibilities include approving and denying proposed land use and development applications such as conditional use permits (CUPs), coastal development permits (CDPs) and others. The Commission also considers proposed amendments to the City’s zoning and land use documents such as the General Plan, the Zoning Code found in the Title 17 of the Malibu Municipal Code and the City’s certified Local Coastal Program, and makes recommendations to the City Council on those amendments. Many of these applications require public hearings in which applicants, neighbors and other interested members of the public may offer comments to the Commission.

Regular meetings of the Planning Commission are held on the first and third Mondays of each month unless otherwise modified when the annual meeting schedule is adopted. Meetings are held in the City Council Chambers at City Hall. Agendas are posted 10 days in advance of each meeting. A guide to Planning Commission proceedings can be found at the bottom of every agenda. For information about a posted agenda item, please contact the designated case planner. Contact information may be found on the Planning Department Staff Directory.


  • 6:30 PM
  • First and third Mondays of every month

 Agendas & Minutes

View Recent Agendas and Minutes


Individuals may serve on only one commission, board, or committee at any given time, in accordance with Council Policy No. 48 – Opportunity to Serve (adopted February 25, 2013).

No compensation is paid for participation on any of the City's boards, commissions, or committees.

Active City Councilmembers may not be appointed as a member of any City board, commission, or committee. Councilmembers do serve on City Council Subcommittees and Ad Hoc Committees.


Name Appointed Date
Appointment Ends
Appointed By
Kraig Hill - Chair January 11, 2021 January 2025 Silverstein 310-456-8229
Dennis Robert Smith - Vice Chair January 11, 2021 January 2025 Grisanti 619-846-8616
Jeffrey Jennings January 14, 2019 January 2023 Farrer 310-457-9979
John Mazza January 11, 2021 January 2025 Uhring 310-430-6012
Mark Wetton November 2, 2021 November 2022 Pierson 310-529-7600

Staff Contact

Patricia Salazar, Senior Administrative Analyst, 310-456-2489, ext. 245, 

Sign up for e-notifications about the Planning Commission.